The Road Ahead: Ventura County, CA

The Road Ahead

Dear Future, I am ready.

2014 is going to be a year of change! No really, I mean it! After my grandiose plans for 2013 were sidetracked by a pair of injuries which forced me to tone things down (read: do practically nothing) for half of the year, I’m ready to get back out there and make things happen! I’m ready to move forward into 2014, and get rid of 2013 for good! It starts now – no more 2013 talk, I’m only looking into the future from here on out! So, the first thing up on my list to write about this year is… my last road trip of 2013. Hmph.

Actually, for as bad as it was to be working on the morning of December 24, it made for an excellent drive up Pacific Coast Highway that afternoon. It sure seemed surreal to be one of the only cars on PCH – practically no one else on the road, and leaving Santa Monica at noon gave me plenty of time to relax on what would be a largely uneventful drive to Santa Cruz.

The weather played nice, too – temperatures hit 80 degrees in Santa Monica that afternoon, and the thermometer in the Mazda read 73 at the time of this picture. Even the DJ on KROQ quipped about the flawless weather that day, “It’s going to be 80 degrees on Christmas Day in L.A. Suck it, rest of the country.” I cheered along in my car until I realized that where I was going was forecast to hit a low of 34 on Christmas Night. “HAHAHA YEAHHH, SUCK IT, REST OF THE CO… awww…” Yeah, I’m spoiled. If it makes you feel any better, like 280% of my income goes toward my rent every month, so there’s that.

Anyways, since it was so crazy beautiful outside, I pulled off the side of the road just across the Ventura County line just to admire the ocean for a little bit, and breathe in the dust clouds from the cars that drove by wonderful ocean air. It just made me feel… well, right. It made me feel like I was doing the right thing. I felt confident and assured; I had ended the year on a high note professionally, and I was most grateful to be on my own two feet again after my injuries nearly one year prior. I was ready to tackle the drive, the holidays, and anything else that lied ahead.

Posted on January 11, 2014, in Day & Age and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

