The Tour de SoCal: Malibu, CA

The Tour de SoCal

…and a fine starting point it is…

What do you do when you get cabin fever? What do you do when you feel like a hamster running on a wheel, day in and day out, following the same routine, without even a brief respite? Where’s your escape?

My answer to that question is fairly obvious.

Not very long ago, I had a rare day off of work, so I decided to get into my Blue Camry and drive. I drove, and I kept driving. Given that I hadn’t had a break from the routine in quite a while, I guess I shouldn’t have been too surprised.

By the end of the day, I had embarked on a full on, unplanned, one day tour of Southern California, visiting every population center in this half of the state – LA, Orange County, San Diego, and the Inland Empire – all while avoiding every major city in the area. This, indeed, is the Tour de SoCal.

Why would I do such a thing? Please allow my close personal friend Jon Bon Jovi answer that question.

The Tour de SoCal: One man’s quest to drive through every major metropolitan area in Southern California in the most wildly inefficient way possible.

The Tour de SoCal: To explore the overlooked in the most looked-upon region of the United States.

The Tour de SoCal: What happens when I don’t leave L.A. County for over a month.

And where did I begin the Tour? Highway 1, of course.

Posted on March 18, 2013, in Day & Age and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

