One Day Only: San Diego, CA

One Day Only

I can explain, I swear!

I am a baseball fan. I love pretty much most sports, but first and foremost, I am a baseball fan. Therefore, October is simultaneously the the most rewarding – and most heartbreaking – month of the year for me. Now that my team is out of the playoffs, I’m find myself watching a game that features the Athletics’ ousters versus the most hated group of men, ever, to set foot on a baseball diamond. You might ask why, if there are no teams left playing that I care about, would I still watch a game? Because I love baseball. It is because of that passion that I found myself flying a San Diego Padres flag two weeks ago.

Before you ask, I do not care about the Padres. Not one bit. I happen to dislike the team they played two Sundays ago, but  I wouldn’t go to a baseball game merely to cheer against a team. It was the last game of the regular season, and probably the last chance I would have this year to catch a game, so I drove 2 hours south to downtown San Diego, hung a Padres flag from my car window, threw on a $40 SD cap, became a Padres fan for one day only, and spent a lazy Sunday afternoon one of the best ways I know how.

A word about car flags: Don’t. Just don’t. Ever. Under any circumstances. Do you want to be associated with one of these people? No, you don’t.

A word about this car flag: It was free, and I am a hypocrite. That is all.

Anyways, in what has become typical Padres fashion, they lost this game in a stomach-punch kind of way, with their closer giving up two home runs in the top of the 9th to allow the Giants to take their final regular season victory. The Giants now find themselves four wins away from their second World Series appearance in three years, and the Padres now find themselves on their respective comfy couches.

I now find myself incredibly thankful for a wildly entertaining season that absolutely nobody could have foreseen, and ever hopeful for the next season.

Posted on October 13, 2012, in Day & Age and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

